This magic item originally appeared 17 Relics by The Le Press. A relic is a powerful magic item which once formed part of the body or belongings of some great figure. See Seventeen Relics for special rules on relics.
Lord Barrack, a hero of legend in ancient feudal times, crafted this helmet from the first dragon he slew at the age of fifteen. Later that year, Barrack wrested control of his treacherous uncle’s armies and lands, and by the age of twenty-two he had conquered half of the country. He is said to have worn this helmet into a hundred battles, and never lost once.
Drake’s Helmet is made from the head of a red dragon, such that the wearer’s face appears to peer from the dragon’s open jaws. The head extends at the back to a long dragonhide cloak with the claws forming the epaulets.
Once per day while engaged in battle, the wearer may call upon the spirit of the slain dragon by making a roar or shout that causes all enemies within 30 feet to believe for a moment that he is a ferocious dragon. They become panicked and flee unless they succeed at a Will save (DC 15 + Cha modifier). This is a supernatural, mind-affecting effect.
The helmet is reputed to hold Lord Barrack’s indomitable spirit, and grants a +4 resistance bonus to all saves, increasing to +8 versus fear effects. If the wearer has the Leadership feat, then the prestige of owning the helmet increases his Leadership score by 1. However, for the purposes of how many magic items a person may wear, this powerful relic takes up both the “helmetâ€? and the “cloakâ€? slot.
Moderate enchantment; CL 14th; Price 42,000gp; Weight 3 lbs.
1: 0.0 “…never lost once”? what did he die of…? writing this, I just wondered if it even matters…
2: what is CL? challenge lvl? nah, class l… erm. so, what is CL?
1. Old age. The Helmet was passed on to his eldest son, who held it until it was stolen in a battle. Unfortunately, it later disappeared and remained missing for several hundred years. However, the Helmet is rumoured to have reappeared among a barbarian tribe in the West.
2. Caster level. Not really relevant unless someone tries Dispel Magic against it.
Since I’m not positive on how helmets and cloaks count in terms of armor, I was just wondering, would this count as armor? I’m going to assume that since there’s no listed armor rating, it’s not actually armor, and that since there’s no arcane spell failure listed, it doesn’t confer any, but what about in terms of monk abilities, which can only be used while wearing no armor.
I was just wondering because I’m in the process of building a character who has massive leadership abilities, and is a sorceror/monk/favored soul, who worships Tiamat. Considering he is the leader (and supposed prophet) of a cult which believe they are the manifestations of “the dragon’s claw,” I do believe the head and body of a red dragon might be rather useful.
Since it doesn’t provide an armour bonus or armour check penalty, and isn’t classified as armour, it’s not armour. Go nuts with your dragon-worshipping monk.
Very classic styled artifact with a good background. Really smart on balancing the magic item out by having it take two body slots for magic items, if not people would abuse it sooooo bad.
Comments for this article are closed.