D20 Source

Updated whenever


Skewering Surprise

posted Saturday, December 17th 2005 by Jonathan Drain
Game MaterialSpellsThird Edition

A familiar spear is summoned into existence.

Skewering Surprise
Conjuration (Summoning)
Level: Sor/Wiz 2
Components: V, S
Casting Time: 1 standard action
Range: Medium (100ft. + 10ft./level)
Effect: One spear, shortspear or longspear
Duration: 1 minute/level
Saving Throw: Reflex negates (see text)
Spell Resistance: No

This spell summons a spear, shortspear or longspear to appear anywhere within the spell’s range, typically either directly above an opponent at the maximum possible height, or in the caster’s hand. If summoned above an enemy, he must make a Reflex save or be struck by the falling spear, taking the spear’s normal damage, plus the spear’s falling damage (1d6 damage for every 60 feet it falls, or 1d6 per 70 feet for a shortspear). The spear then remains on the ground for the spell’s duration, allowing anyone to pick it up and use it as a normal weapon.

At the caster’s option, hey may summon any spear, shortspear or longspear which he already owns and has prepared in a special ritual costing 50gp. The spell functions as long as the spear is stored anywhere on the same plane as the caster (even in the caster’s posession), and is useful for allowing the caster to summon magical and/or poisoned weapons. The weapon’s enhancement bonus to damage and special properties still apply to an enemy it strikes, although it cannot score a critical hit. The caster may only have one such spear prepared at any one time.

Comments

  1. R2

    December 20th, 2005

    What happens when the duration runs out on a summoned weapon the caster already owns?

  2. Jonathan Drain

    December 23rd, 2005

    What happens when the duration runs out on a summoned weapon the caster already owns?

    It returns to wherever it was before the spell was cast.

  3. Pandancer

    May 2nd, 2006

    Am I mistaken, or do conjured items have to appear on a stable supportive surface? This would limit the appliction of this spell, but it would still be useful (readied quick-cast versus a charging foe).

Comments for this article are closed.